Symbolic Jewelry Created As Lenten Discipline

Every year as I head into Lent I find myself reflecting on my first experience of taking on a Lenten discipline, since it was such a productive experience for me. In 1988, my discipline was to create a body of work through which I could share my faith through my art. Here’s a piece of my story that I have shared before but is worth repeating again and again, especially on the anniversary of taking on this endeavor.

Christian theme heart jewelry designs Nancy Denmark

Heart Themed Jewelry In My "From The Heart Line"

“In the late 80’s, after hearing a stewardship sermon, I felt called to communicate the love of God through my jewelry work. I understood it to be my responsibility, as a good steward of my artistic gifts, to create a body of work for the Glory of God. It was the best way for me to give God a good return on his investment in me. As a Lenten discipline, I created the first pieces of my line of jewelry incorporating Christian symbology. I named it “From the Heart Line” as many of my first pieces were hearts incorporating different Christian symbols. Through the years, I have continued to add to that original body of work, which is now over 60 designs strong. With that first calling, I committed to give each piece a story or scripture explanation to help the wearer communicate their faith to others with words, as well as the visual design. One of my favorite quotes, attributed to St. Francis of Assisi, is “Tell everyone around you of the great love of God. When all else fails, use words.” It is my goal as an artist that each jewelry piece stands on its own as good design without the attached symbolism. It is also my goal that the symbols will communicate without words. This often results in perfect strangers, being drawn to comment on the design, opening a door for the wearer to share their story of faith. My ministry is sharing the love and glory of God through my design work, offering the wearer a “love story” to visibly wear and verbally share.”

This line of symbolic jewelry may also be viewed in my catalog brochure available for download on my website. Printed at 100% the images in the brochure are actual size, with stories, symbolism, and prices. The BROCHURE tab is accessible from any web page. A simple click on the word BROCHURE will download a pdf file catalog/brochure with current pricing.

Clicking on the above image of heart jewelry, will take you to my web page featuring this group. The web page lists these designs by name and ordering code with purple links to view and read about each jewelry design shown in the image above. To place orders, visit the contact page on my website for instructions.

Leave a Reply

